Friday, May 29, 2009


The Niagara Falls is huge waterfalls on the Niagara River, spanning the international border between the Canadian province of Ontario and the U.S. state of New York. The falls are 17 miles (i.e. 27 km) north-northwest of Buffalo, New York and 75 miles (i.e. 120 km) south-southeast of Toronto, Ontario, connecting the twin cities of Niagara Falls, Ontario, and Niagara Falls, New York.

Niagara Falls is composed of two major sections divided by Goat Island: Horseshoe Falls, the majority of which lies on the Canadian side of the border, and American Falls on the American side. The smaller Bridal Veil Falls are also located on the American side, separated from the main falls by Luna Island.

More than six million cubic feet (168,000 m³) of waterfalls over the crest line every minute in high flow and almost 4 million cubic feet (110,000 m³) on average. It is the most dominant waterfall in North America. The Niagara Falls is renowned both for it beauty and as a valuable source of hydroelectric power. Managing the stability between recreational, commercial, and industrial uses has been a challenge for the stewards of the falls since the 1800s.

No comments: